Online Commentaries
eJournalsPrint Journals
Exegesis
This is the "Home" page of the "Biblical Studies & Bible Study Tools" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biblical Studies & Bible Study Tools   Tags: chicago, mdl, michigan, spokane  

Last Updated: Nov 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.moody.edu/BiblicalStudies Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Key Databases

  • ATLA RDB  
      
    The ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage from 1949 and retrospective indexing for some journal issues as far back as the nineteenth century. Journals are selected for inclusion according to their scholarly merit and scope.
  • BILDI - Bibelwissenschaftliche Literaturdokumenation Innsbruck
    Index to biblical and biblical-archaeological literature published in articles, collected works and monographs; since 1990 partly with references to book reviews.
  • Christian Periodical Index
    To find the full text, search our online catalog for the journal. If we own the title, email us the citation so that we can scan the full text of the article back to you.
  • RBL - Review of Biblical Literature
    The RBL database, expanded weekly, contains over 6985 published reviews. This search engine will help you navigate through these reviews, do preliminary research on varied topics, and discover the most recent publications in the field.
  • Oxford Biblical Studies Online
    Oxford Biblical Studies Online provides a comprehensive resource for the study of the Bible and biblical history. The integration of authoritative scholarly texts and reference works with tools that provide ease of research into the background, context, and issues related to the Bible make Oxford Biblical Studies Online a valuable resource not only for college students, scholars, and clergy, but also anyone in need of an authoritative, ecumenical, and up-to-date resource.
 

Biblical Studies

Moody Bible Institute offers undergraduate and graduate degrees and certificates in Biblical Studies. 

The Bible Department seeks to assist students to become biblically competent. The department aims to lead students to acquire a foundational and an intermediate understanding of the English Bible and, for the Biblical Language major, the Hebrew and Greek texts.

The goal of the Bible Department is to provide the necessary education for students to equip them to carry out effective ministry in the church and parachurch organizations, graduate studies in Bible and related disciplines and lifelong learning.

The Bible Department will aim to facilitate the education of Moody Bible Institute students so that they can

  • Trace the story line of the Old and New Testaments
  • Explain the canonical structure of the sixty-six books of the Bible
  • Discuss the general historical and cultural background for the Old and New Testaments
  • Discuss the formation of the canon and acquire a firm conviction that the Bible is the inspired, inerrant and authoritative Word of God
  • Model a lifestyle that is biblically informed and distinctly Christian

Guide Author

Profile Image
Amy Koehler
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Moody Bible Institute
Crowell Library
820 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60610
312.329.4136
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip