This is the "Home" page of the "Biblical Languages" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biblical Languages   Tags: chicago, mdl, michigan, spokane  

The Bible Department will provide training in the original languages of the Bible to facilitate the student's progress in translating and interpreting the Bible in the original Hebrew and Greek script.
Last Updated: Jun 4, 2013 URL: http://libguides.moody.edu/BiblicalLanguages Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Faculty

 

UNDERGRADUATE

Greek

Trevor Burke

trevor.burke@moody.edu

312-329-4046

SW 3 RM 344 SE

 

Ernest Gray

ernest.gray@moody.edu

312-329-4011

 

John Hart

john.hart@moody.edu

312-329-4043

SW 3 RM 340 SE

 

Gerald Peterman

gerald.peterman@moody.edu

312-329-4050

SW 3 RM 337 SE

 

Ronald Sauer

ronald.sauer@moody.edu

312-329-4032

SW 3 RM 346 SE

 

Michael Vanlaningham

michael.vanlaningham@moody.edu

312-329-4041

SW 3 RM 336 SE

 

Hebrew

Andrew Schmutzer

andrew.schmutzer@moody.edu

312-329-4431

SW 3 RM 341 SE

 

Tim Sigler

tim.sigler@moody.edu

312-329-4031

SW 3 RM 338 SE

 

Michael Wechsler

michael.wechsler@moody.edu

312-329-4040

SW 3 RM 342 SE

 

GRADUATE

Greek

Raju Kunjummen (Michigan)

raju.kunjummen@moody.edu

734-207-9581

 

J. Brian Tucker (Michigan)

brian.tucker@moody.edu

734-207-9581

 

Julius Wong Loi Sing (Chicago)

julius.wongloising@moody.edu

312-329-8058

FH 1

 

David L. Woodall (Chicago)

david.woodall@moody.edu

312-329-8032

FH 1

 

Hebrew

James F. Coakley (Chicago)

jim.coakley@moody.edu

312-329-4346

FH 1

 

Raju Kunjummen (Michigan)

raju.kunjummen@moody.edu

734-207-9581

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG)

 

Mango Courses

 

Koine Greek, Ancient Greek, Latin and Biblical Hebrew
  Click on this box to be directed to Mango Languages.  Then click on 'Start Learning.'  Select a course from the alphabetical list in order to begin.  To save your progress, create an account.  Mango is web-based, and therefore available anywhere you have internet access.  Simply access Mango with your My Moody login and then, if you have an account, your individual Mango username and password.  Mango apps are also available for Android and iPhones.

**Please note: The Koine Greek course uses a pronunciation guide that differs from the one taught at MBI.

 

Biblical Language Major

Biblical Language Major (Old Testament/New Testament)

The Bible Department will provide training in the original languages of the Bible to facilitate the student's progress in translating and interpreting the Bible in the original Hebrew and Greek scriptures.

Program Objectives

In addition to the general and specific objectives, the Bible Department will furnish instruction that will help the student

  • Translate and interpret the biblical text in the original language(s) at an intermediate level
  • Evaluate critically and utilize the basic language tools necessary for exegesis of Old or New Testament passages
  • Use the principles and methodology of textual criticism
  • Exhibit enthusiasm for the study of the Bible in the original languages

 

Moody Bible Institute Courses in Biblical Languages

UNDERGRADUATE

BI 2281 Greek Grammar I

BI 2282 Greek Grammar II

BI 2271 Hebrew Grammar I

BI 2272 Hebrew Grammar II

BI 3383 Greek Exegesis I

BI 3384 Greek Exegesis II

BI 3371 Hebrew Exegesis I

BI 3372 Hebrew Exegesis II

BI 4401 Gospel of John in Greek

BI 4411 Romans in Greek

BI 4485 Advanced Greek Reading I

BI 4486 Advanced Greek Reading II

GRADUATE

NT 5503 New Testament Greek 1

NT 5504 New Testament Greek 2

NT 6652 New Testament Greek 3

OT 5503 Biblical Hebrew 1

OT 5504 Biblical Hebrew 2

OT 6603 Hebrew Syntax and Exegesis

NT 7702 Greek or OT 7703 Hebrew Exegesis Elective

Guide Author

Profile Image
Amy Koehler
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Moody Bible Institute
Crowell Library
820 N LaSalle Blvd
Chicago, IL 60610
312.329.4136
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip